Skip to Content

How did Sask. MPs vote on pro-life abortion motion?

Motion was defeated but 10 out of 13 SK MPs voted in favour
Reported by CJME staff
Change text size: + -

On Wednesday members of parliament voted on a controversial pro-life abortion motion brought forward by Conservative MP Stephen Woodworth. The motion was defeated in a vote of 203 to 91 with Prime Minister Stephen Harper voting against it.

The motion was to study the definition of human life in the Criminal Code, essentially to re-examine the question of when a fetus can be considered a living child.

In a break-down of the vote, 10 out of 13 Saskatchewan MPs voted in favour of the pro-life motion, three voted against it.

In favour

David Anderson, Conservative MP for Cypress Hills Grasslands voted in favour.

Kelly Block, Conservative MP for Saskatoon Rosetown Biggar
voted in favour.

Ray Boughen, Conservative MP for Palliser voted in favour.

Gary Breitkreuz, Conservative MP for for Yorkton-Melville voted in favour.

Rob Clarke, Conservative MP for Desnethé—Missinippi—Churchill River
voted in favour.

Ed Komarnicki, Conservative MP for Souris – Moose Mountain voted in favour.

Tom Lukiwski, Conservative MP for Regina Lumsden Lake Centre voted in favour.

Gerry Ritz, Conservative MP for Battlefords –Lloydminster voted in favour.

Brad Trost, Conservative MP for Saskatoon-Humboldt voted in favour.

Maurice Vellacott, Conservative MP for Saskatoon- Wanuskewin voted in favour.


Ralph Goodale, Liberal MP for Wascana voted to oppose.

Randy Hoback, Conserviative MP for Prince Albert voted to oppose.

Lynn Yellich. Conservative MP for Blackstrap voted to oppose.